Just another WordPress.com site

Screenplay

Treatment:

Its 1:00 in the afternoon and Sydney and Brian are deciding their futures. They are exchanged students at a private school in California. They fell in love earlier this year, but they must go home. For Sydney, that’s in Australia, and for Brian, that’s in Italy. Their parents don’t understand their relationship and just want them to come home. They have officially spent enough time at the school to get the degrees in which they desired, but their jobs are waiting for them back at home.

Both of them don’t want to leave each other. They have spent a lot of time dealing with this, and think they have made a decision for themselves and not their families. What will that decision be?

Conversations:

Conversation 1: STARBUCKS; boy and girl; exchanged students

Person 1: im sorry

Person 2: Its ok when am I leaving

Person 1: Tomorrow afternoon

Person 2: When is your plane

Person 1: 7pm

Person 2: is your family here

Person 1: no they are not

Person 1: im going to cry and pack at the same time

Person 2: they were supposed to put me far, if I part from them I will feel very disconnected

Person 1: how many classes do you have

Person 2: just one

Person 1: I don’t want to leave this school

Person 2: Why

Person 1: I have to stay here

Person 2: These days are very hard, we are human, and we care about a lot of things

Person 1: Sometimes I just don’t know

Person 2: I think you wont know until you see

Person 1: you have to make the best of your time here

Conversation 2: STARBUCKS; boy and girl; studying/hanging out; American students

Person 1: you have to move the total minus this?

Person 2: yes

Person 1: wait so you use that same formula?

Person 1: I guess I was just looking for total distance

Person 1: I don’t get this at all

Person 2: yes, just do it this way

Person 1: Isn’t it caught by the receiver?

Person 2: its 13% of this number here

Person 1: did you multiply that by 2 then?

Person 2: um, I am not sure

Person 1: because you are rolling the ball here and here?

Person 2: well this is the answer here, I just don’t care anymore

Response:

I really enjoyed doing this assignment. It was interesting to eavesdrop for a purpose. I tend to eavesdrop when I am not even noticing, but when you are sitting and actually taking notes on someone elses conversation, you learn things about each person. One of my conversations was not interesting at all. 2 people were sitting at Starbucks studying. My other conversation was interesting, but extremely heard to understand parts of it. They seemed like they had just met, but were talking about emotional and private things. They seemed to confide in each other, while giving advice. I enjoyed making a screenplay out of these conversations. I focused more on the first one than the second one because it was easier to make a story with the first one. I turned it into a love story, and connected it back to the people who were in my first conversation. The program celtx, was very easy to use and helpful during this process. Overall, I would like to continue with my screenplay and add more characters and plot to it.

Leave a comment