Just another WordPress.com site

Final Exam- 6 Photo’s

This was the first picture I took. It is of a bed and breakfast located oncampus. I thought this represented great production because of the quaintness and serenity of this picture. I could see this bed and breakfast used as an old country house in a movie. The porch and lighting really looks picture perfect, along with the light yellow tone of the overall house. I feel as if this house and the actual setting would be a great for a movie filmed on the country side or from the older days. This house looks as if it is from a book, and I really pictured something being filmed in it. The picture on the left is the house during the day, and the picture on the right is the house during the evening. This house fits into the lesson about psychographics. Certain people would feel that this house is extremely quaint and comfortable, while others just wouldn’t be attracted to it. I, personally, am attracted to a country themed house because it reminds me of family and memories.

This picture reminded me of the lesson regarding image design. Each individual person perceives things differently, especially colors, fonts, shapes, etc. When I saw this sign, I immediately thought this represented great production. This is because I could see this sign being in a children movie, maybe a mystery movie. I always used to read the boxcar children books when I was younger, and this sign brought me back to my childhood. The colors work really well with each other, and also the font reminds me of something younger kids would be attracted to. This is a sign for a book store in Bloomington and I could see this sign in a movie for kids who are trying to solve something and need to look for a bookstore in order to receive more information. The texture of this sign, the colors, the shape, the format all fit in together and represent a younger group of people.

 

This house represents good production in so many ways. I changed the color of the picture to sepia so it looked more spooky and isolated. I saw this and immediately thought this was the perfect set for a horror film.The texture of this house is really rigid and run down. It looks like someone mysterious and dangerous would live inside. It is a huge house which means a lot of activity could occur inside. Also, the floors look creaky, and the overall house looks smelly and old. The colors also really caught my eyes. I thought the dirty brown, with the hints of green gave it the creepy character it needed. This house looks like it is eroding day after day.

 

There was a carnival the other night in Bloomington, near the stadium, and the whole set caught my eye. This reminded of the beginning of the movie Big, and I thought that a bright carnival at night would make a perfect scene in a movie. The sky contrasts with all the colors and lights from the carnival. This kind of set could either be in a light and happy movie, or even a horror film. From this angle it looks almost empty and deserted, yet lively at the same time. You can smell different things, feel different things by just looking at this photo.

 

This is actually a picture of a side of the stadium with the moon right above it. I saw this and immediately wanted to capture it. This looks like a castle on land that is never ending. This could used on a set for a movie that has a magical and whimsical feel to it. The moon shining over the whole things looks almost like a painting instead of a real photograph. There are no cars around, no people, just the castle and the moon. I would love to see something so romantic and isolated at the same time. There is texture, material and history in this picture all at the same time. Where did it come from? How old is this? What is it used for? There are so many things this photo could be in order to represent good production.

 

 

This was the last picture I took and immediately saw this as good production. This is a painted wall in the middle of Bloomington, and adds flavor to the area. I saw this wall painting being used in a film in an area that is poorer and ethnic. During movies, in less industrialized areas, I have noticed a similarities among graffiti on the wall, and paintings like these throughout the town. I think this adds personality to a poorer part of a city, and helps the audience understand the type of people in the surrounding area and even in the movie they are watching. We talked about color in class, and I think the color red and blue really stand out on each of these paintings. They contrast each other well, yet are incorporated throughout each one.

Leave a comment