Just another WordPress.com site

I watched Midnight Cowboy for my 60’s movie. I really enjoyed this movie, although it was a much older movie than I am used to. From my understanding about the year of the movie, this film and characters were really realistic. You could understand the timing and their hardships really well. The relationship between the 2 main characters was strange and unique in itself. They began their relationship when one betrays the other, but then they both realize they needed each other in order to survive in new york city. I enjoyed the character Dustin Hoffman played because at first he stole money and ran off, but then you learned more about him and his struggles and how willingly he was to help out Jon Voight. It was a sad story from the way they made their money, but during the 6-‘s, I don’t think they had much of an option. It was interesting how the main character not only characterized himself as a cowboy, but also a male hustler. I was surprised to see how much sex was incorporated and showed in this film. I thought during that time, nothing like that was shown on the screen, and I found this surprising. My favorite part of the movie had to have been his flashbacks throughout the whole thing. Their were flashbacks about Voight’s past, which helped you understand who he was as a person; this drew me into him more, and made me understand him and his hardships. I would recommend this movie to anyone looking for something new and interesting. I enjoyed watching it and everything it had to offer, and I don’t think I would have ever chosen this movie if picking a 60’s movie wasn’t an option, but I am glad it was!

Leave a comment