Just another WordPress.com site

My 4 Comics…

how to read a book comic:

This comic was fun for me to draw out. This was directed towards any stressed out and overworked college student. We get so many assigned books on a day-to-day basis and, luckily, we have spark notes to help us out. This was supposed to be comical because the student takes the time to go to the library, check out the book, but right when she got home, she just went online and read it through spark notes. And in the end, gets an A on the book report written about it. Before I started drawing this out, I wrote out the steps so I could stay between 5 and 6 panels. I don’t think I could’ve used more than 5 panels on this comic; I got straight to the point and made my drawings easy to understand. I wanted to draw a comic that I could connect to and laugh with as well.

 How to fall in love comic:

This comic strip was directed to the average teenage girl looking for love. This was also supposed to be funny because everyone knows high school boys are rarely “fall in love” material. This comic was about a girl who got her heart broken and got creative and found her perfect prince by kissing a frog at her local pond. This was easy for me to draw out because everyone wished finding love and the perfect guy could be this easy. This comic was also supposed to be on the funnier side and supposed to be taken less seriously because instead of this teenage girl sulking around, she thought of a plan and it ended up being successful.

how to make a good breakfast comic:

This comic strip was directed towards any person who needs a quick and easy meal to make. This can be directed towards high school teens and older. Our parents inflict independence on us when we hit our teen years, including making meals for ourselves. This was supposed to stick to the “how to” comic, without being funny or serious. The pictures are self-explanatory and clarify how to make eggs and toast in one meal that is just about easy enough for anyone to make! It is a creative and fun meal, especially really tasty too!

Final story comic:

Putting together all the separate comics into one single comic was not hard for me. All of my comics were completely different, but they could easily make one big story. The characters were easy to relate to each other and the story lines meshed very well. I had to take some parts out of my panels in each indivual comic or else it would have been too long, but I knew what I wanted to keep and what I needed to get rid of in order for my comic to come together in a story that made sense to its viewers. I had no trouble with this part of the assignment and enjoyed being creative and making a story out of everything.

Final thoughts on all comics?

             Putting this final comic together was not a difficult task for me. Although the three separate comics are completely different, they all fit together well. This process, overall, was a fun task for me to complete. I have never taken the time to sit down and draw comics from my own original work. I am not the best drawer, so that was definitely the hardest part of this assignment. I can draw people, but drawing people in different settings and situations and making it look visually appealing was difficult for me. Coming up with the ideas for each individual comic was an easy thing. I did things that I could connect with and things that affect me everyday. I am a college female student who is trying to get by everyday. I have had to write and read plenty book reports, I have had to learn how to cook on my own, and I have had plenty experiences with different boyfriends in high school where I wished I could find my own personal prince. I wanted to try and make my comics funny yet relatable to my target audience, which I think they were.

            I didn’t come across many problems during this whole process. I did learn more about comics and everything they have to offer. They are a great and easy way to tell a story. I think more people enjoy reading things with more pictures than words and through comics, you can easily understand the story that’s being told based on the drawings that are given. It is much easier to understand when the pictures are clear and to the point. I have read comics before where I haven’t understood a thing because the pictures and words confused me, but through this process my knowledge has grown. I enjoyed this assignment because I got to see a creative side, which I don’t normally use in my classes, and made comics which I think people will understand and relate to instantly.

Leave a comment